Arborwear RAC Chaps (long size) Rookie Review

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DaddyFlip

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I just bought my first pair of chaps based on a reddit post. I never in my life can remember seeing someone wear protective gear while chainsawing and I'm just getting into chainsaws myself, so I'm treating this like motorcycling. I wear ATGATT (all the gear all the time) on a bike, which also has a chain, sprockets, and danger, so no reason not to gear up for this. I'm sure I'll get laughed at sometime, but so what; I have to wear full PPE at work, so I'm used to it. I'm 6'3 245 with 44" outseam and 36" inseam. I would say the long is slightly short for me, but it's better than nothing. I'm wearing Muck rubbers which are pretty big in the ankle and thigh; the wrap was better on my Thorogood leather steel toes, but the length was unchanged.

These chaps cost $105 in long size. All of the buckle straps and belt is made of a heavy and somewhat stretchable band. The belt is labeled as "cut to length" but it has a nice keeper so you DON'T cut anything. I also like that the belt is a full 2-inches and the heavy fastex buckle is on the right side, so it doesn't interfere with your pants buckle. I mainly wore the chaps belt right on top of my regular belt, but I also pulled it up past my pants belt some and it wore fine that way also. I wore them for four hours over cotton pants cutting out tops of a fallen oak without issue. They didn't shift or bunch up and they didn't snag on anything while I was walking through the tops.