Are snap locks unsafe?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treepanda

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
We have just had out ITCC nationals here and a few months ago had our regional climbing comp. The judges were not allowing snap lock connectors on the boys lanyards... their argument was that the ISA ITCC rules state that all connectors must be triple locking... I sent a few emails around the local brains trust because I don't agree, and got a variety of responses.. I am a trainer and I train my climbers that their climbing line should always be their primary attachment point and that a lanyard is always a secondary means of support or to secure a position while cutting or similar..
This of course does not apply when chogging down a spar when a lanyard would be the primary attachment... a steel core flip line...(there is one school of thought that steel core flip lines are dangerous because they encourage cutting close to the rope...I do not understand that logic at all!)

All the height access workers, utility workers, and just about everyone else, use double action snap hooks on their lanyards, why do the ITCC rules discriminate against them?

If they were proven unsafe I would be the first to encourage my students to use triple action karabiners on their lanyards, but I believe they create issues in themselves, difficulty to operate one handed etc, difficulty in maintaining correct alignement along the axis etc.

These rules must have come from somewhere? Does anyone know where or why? Does anyone know of instances where double action snap locks have failed?

Am i just being a close minded grumpy old bugger like I was with helmets, eye protection, chainsaw pants and all the other accoutrements that have been introduced over the years?