Back up chipper

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikewhite85

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
Just seeing what you guys think about getting a back up/2nd chipper. Once in a while my model 90 has an issue and goes down for a day and i could use a back up. It would also be sweet to tow a chipper behind my pickup once in a while and maybe put a dump hoist underneath the bed to do small trimming and removals with a second crew while my chip truck is elsewhere. For me I think it would definitely be easier to have 2 2-man crews do $800 dollar jobs on the same day than my 4 guys doing 1 $1600 job. Ideally I would love one of those chipper box combo trailers but they are hard to come by.

I am thinking something CHEAP like this WOODCHUCK BRUSH/WOOD CHIPPER

I have never used a chuck n duck before but I'd rather not spend another 10g's on a used 9" hydraulic feed. No way I would get anything over 50hp either due to CARB regs. I like the big removals as I have done a few crane jobs lately but no where near ready to buy a huge chipper and that would tempt me to buy a nice roll off truck too! 100g's in equip right there. It's not good to spend money that I don't have :)