Backwards insurance / economy

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am just starting a business. I have not sold one job. For a month now I have been filing all the paper work, getting insurance quotes, jumping through all the hoops. I been working with one agent now for about three weeks and still have not gotten a quote. It's rediculous.

I got back today a quote for WC. It was through the roof, I applied for one PT groundmans salary only but they included mine as well. I originally told them I was to to be exempt since I do not need coverage for my self since I am an officer of the company but they still quoted it that way.

I hope to get out there and do some work by the middle of June. I been paying out sums of money and not one dime coming in yet because I want to do this right and not be a hipocrit because I am always getting after a close friend who does not carry any insurance what so ever.

I was happy to hear my WC was quoted at 27.81 on the hundred.

I still have a few ducks to line up before the insurance quote gets here. I still have to fly to Florida to pick up my chip truck, still need to decide on a chipper and go purchase all the ropes, handtools and saws I need.

I think after 16 years of climbing for everyone else it will be worth it in the end.

The only way this gets fixed IMHO is through governance.

As long as any ole Tom or Harry can grab a saw and cut a tree the problem stays.

In fact, when people lose jobs in a crap economy it gets worse as they enter the jobs that aren't regulated .... lawn mowing, dog washing, and tree cutting.

Over here we're doing stuff for prices back in the 90's yet fuel is triple the cost alone.

It's a race to the bottom. When the mentality shifts from ...