Insurance audits

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fdrebin

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Are there insurers that do not require yearly audits? Mine has started requiring tax returns as part of the process, which feels invasive, esp. as I have DBAs under the same LLC and report my P&L in aggregate. Never had a claim, pre-pay the year's premium, one-man show, no employees. Maybe it is a standard practice, and they're just catching up, I don't know.

Never had an insurance audit and we have quite a pile of stuff insured on the farm. My agent comes out spring/fall and we add/remove things on the policy but never have has to give tax returns and such.

I've been operating as an S-corp for over 30 years, otherwise much the same situation as you. I'm the sole employee, stockholder, and officer. Never made a claim. The only time I hear from the insurance company is when it's time to pay the bill and, perhaps twice in 30 years, a premises inspection.

Never had a claim, pre-pay the year's premium, one-man show, no employees. Maybe it is a standard practice, and they're just catching up, I don't know.

That kind of depends upon what kind of insurance is being purchased. If your policy fees are based upon your gross earnings, then you should expect them to do an audit. Many policies (especially worker's comp coverage) are payroll based, since it might be inferred that payroll is a better risk metric than gross revenue.

If you don't know, then you should ask your agent. That is what they are there for.