Bar or Chain or something more sinister?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aussie MacGyver

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Howdy All

I am still pretty new to chainsaws. I have only cut enough wood for a few weeks of fire at night. I have an old Pioneer 650 that runs pretty good. Problem is that the saw bogs down in a cut and the chains stalls (stops). Lift a bit and the chain will speed up and I can start the cut again. When this happens there is a high pitched rattle and when I rev the saw it feels unbalanced.

Now before I use the saw I adjust the chain, fill the manual oiler and fill with fuel. The chain was sharpened 2 logs ago.

After cutting the chain gets very loose. It will hang well below the bar. I'm sure I am tightening it right. I loosen the two bolts use the adjusting screw to tighten chain until all slack is gone but chain can still be turned by hand. Lift bar while tightening the bolts.

There is quite a bit ofsideways slack in the chain. Would it be possible that the PO has put the wrong guage chain in for the bar?

What should I measure/do?

cheers
Scott

Seriously, take it to a saw shop, sounds all a bit too wierd.

Could be a myriad of things, crankcase seals, bearings, bar nose sprocket, drive sprocket, clutch, carby, mixture etc...

... unless you know what you are doing I'd suggest a saw shop.

Still think the chain and bar are bogus. Engine rips up and down the scale nicely, smooth long idle. I have just put a carb kit through it . If the chain was the wrong guage for the bar (too thin) I would assume it would get hot real quick and would slip in the sprocket. This is what is happening (pretty sure). If I measure the width of the bar groove should that equal the width of the chain drive teeth? Or have I missed something somewhere.