Bar Size for Chinese MS660 Clone?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I've never really timed the 660 and it does have a bigger tank but the 372 is a gas hog. It has a big bore kit in it so it's more like 75-80 cc. It runs very well.
My G660 definitely uses more fuel than my G372XP, which has also been an awesome saw. I run a 24" Forester pro bar and fc chain on it and it pulls nice.

My G660 definitely uses more fuel than my G372XP, which has also been an awesome saw. I run a 24" Forester pro bar and fc chain on it and it pulls nice.
Well now I'm curious. I'm going to have to do some kind of fuel consumption test. I just know when I use the 372, I put gas in it more often than any other saw I have.

I just found out about Chinese Stihl MS660 clones from Farmertec and Neo-Tec. I'm not a pro, so there is zero possibility that I would ever spend for a real Stihl, and it's unrealistic to wait for a good used one to magically appear in my area at a good price, but it would be really nice to have a stronger saw than my Echo CS-590, and the Chinese jobs are affordable. I live in a place where oaks fall over a lot, and cutting the big ones with the Echo's limited power and 20" bar can be a drag.

What's a good bar size for an MS660 clone? I have seen people say to stay at or below 25", but I have also seen people recommending 36". I was thinking a 28" bar would be very nice for the trees I cut up here, but I don't want to get a bar that is really too big for the saw. I would rather have a fast 25" saw than a slow 28" saw.