basic chipper primer please

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matt Michael

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I need a basic overview of used small to medium sized chippers. I've been climbing for 21 years and have occasionally used chippers but I've never really paid attention to the different kinds. Now I'm considering adding one to my small mainly residential operation but I need to know what to look for. I've been reading posts here and have learned a little about horsepower, feed and safety systems, basic rated size, and hopper size but it's tough to sort out all the different models as I look at manufacturer websites, craigslist, and ebay.

Can someone give me a simple breakdown of the desirable manufacturers, models and features of the 6 to 12 inch size units under $10K used to look for as I shop? I'm a very capable do-it-yourself fixer upper but not being familiar with basic chipper anatomy I don't really know what to avoid so feel free to educate me in that area as well.

Thanks in advance
Matt

What do you plan to tow it with?? may determine how big you go. A light truck will handle 6 inch bigger you step up to a medium truck set up with all associated costs
I reckon my bandit 6 inch is a great entry unit capable repairable and will chew most of a one man band tree work jobs while lite enough to tow with a car.