Bear Cat Chipper

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Mower Dude

Mower Dude

Hey Guys
I'm a landscaper needing info on a 20 hp Bear Cat chipper I know it's not a pro model but I just need something to chip with so I don't have to haul big loads of limbs to the land field miles away ,also saving time .I don't do alot of tree work just the one hitting us in the face while we're trying to work .It's in a price range we can afford .Let us know.

Mower Dude

Mower Dude

I was needing to know about any problems with this sort of machine . I already know about specs but I was looking for someone with experience on something this small .Is it dependable does it dull easliy on most wood , sort of a reputation on this manufacturer .Bear Cat seems to be all they offer around here. Just fishin.

Cicero

Cicero

Big C in the 303
We sell Morbark chippers and the Bear Cat guys are always trying to get us to sell theirs. It is an OK unit but my opinion is if you are buying new you are far better off to spend that money on a used Vermeer, Morbark or Bandit. Parts and durability will be far better on even a used mach. Around here that machine would sell for about 7K-8K. No hydraulics. 7-8K should buy you a darn nice used piece. I am selling 6" Morbarks with approx. 100-200 hours for around that price. So hopefully someone near you would have something. Contact Vermeer or Bandit or Morbark see what else is out there.

Reed

Addicted to ArboristSite
Been renting a Bear Cat that has a 25hp Kubota diesel, just for a job 80 miles from here where I'm workin' alone - the dealer's only a mile from this work.