Best Way to Quickly Clear Cold Air From Chimney?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

njtuna

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
i am new to burning (second year for me). sometimes my chimney has cold air blockage when i am going to start a fire, and i try to get rid of it by burning newspaper. it works, but by the time it starts to move the cold air, my whole house is full of smoke. are there any tips/tricks out there to get this done faster or with less smoke? forgot to add that this is a fireplace xtrordinair, not a wood stove. thanks

Last edited:
I have a wood stove and what works for me is I pull the pipe off the wall shove a piece of news paper in, light it, and quickly put the pipe back on and light the fire. I have never had a problem with smoke in the house since.

Same thing used to happen to me. I could never let the fire go out, or I smoked the whole house up when I re-lit it. What I did this year was I took a small electric heater with a fan built into it and put it in the door way of the stove for a while. It actually got the black pipe warm. Anyway, when I built the fire all the smoke went right up. To add to it, my stove is in the basement, and the top of my chimney is about 35 feet above it as it is about 5 feet above the 2nd story roof line. That's a lot of cold air, but that little heater did it.

I have the same problem with my fireplace, I don't use it often as I use the wood stove everyday. But I use a hair dryer just stick in the flue for 10seconds.

hair dryer sounds great. going to give that a try. also have a heat gun, if the hair dryer doesn't work. thanks for the tips!