breathing in dust, what do you do to protect you!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stumpy66

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I have been grinding for a few years, and before christmas i was having trouble breathing and in pain, i had the chest/lung capacity of a 60 year old apparently.....being only 39..thats a bad thing...after antibiotics and lots of coughing, i now wear paper masks but want to upgrade to a more permanent filter system...any suggestions or recommendations on how i keep my airways clear? What do my fellow stumpers wear...if anything.....

Put down the glass pipe? Quit smoking? They make good particle masks that have dual filters but are easy to breathe through, maybe overkill, I don't think dirt, rock, wood dust is carcinogenic, just aggravating. Guys that work on fiberglass boats use them all the time, contact a safety supply company and they should be able to provide you with an appropriate level of filter system.

Yeah, yeah a respirator, sorry, I was wrong about the terminology, been wrong before.

I know what you mean Stumpy66...I have been grinding stumps full time for the past 19 years and I have the same problem. I don't wear anything except Rayco helmet with mesh face shield. I will be trying a resperator or something. Hate to wear something like that on those 90 degree days but probably should have been using something 19 years ago.

i have been told that wood dust can be irritating to the lungs....and that any grinding wheel certainly is, especially the silicon carbide wheels....

I don't think it is so bad with hydraulic machines but the physical effort required to use a pedestrian machines means a lot of heavy breathing in a mist of dust......wearing them in heat and the sun does not appeal to me..that why i wondered if anyone had a good product or system to recomment....