Brush clearing advice needed

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MasonDixon

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am looking for information on the best way to clear land of heavy brush, small trees and kudzu and stumbled across this website.

I’m a rural land developer and buy land and chop it up into five- to 30-acre tracts. In the past I haven’t tried to improve the land, but I think I could make more money by cleaning up the tracts. Also, even if I don’t clean up the tracts I would like something to cut out the lines. I sometimes use a bulldozer to push the lines out, but a good brush or forestry mower would do it better and more quickly (I think).

Ideally I would just rent this equipment on an as-needed basis. So far I’ve found good equipment very hard to find. Maybe I’m not looking in the right place.

Buying an expensive machine is not out of the question if I could hire a top-notch operator. I figure I could hire out to friends and family (and strangers, too I suppose) and easily pay for the equipment.

My goals: Clean fence lines, clear survey lines while the crew shoots the lines and clean all or parts of tracts covered with brush, and plant grass afterwards.

Anyway, my options would seem to be a heavy-duty skid-steer or a dedicated machine. I’ve listed some of the options I’ve found below, along with some questions. I’ve love some feedback on this.

Skid-steer: Any suggestions on a powerful skid-steer? I will want to use rubber tracks. There are a couple of rotary brush cutters that look great. I do want one that will lift off the ground so I can drop it on top of high brush.

Any comments on the Ammbusher brand? I do not see much mention of them, although their website claims they produced the first brush cutter. www.ammbusher.com

Dymax has what looks like a very powerful rotary brush cutter on their website. Anyone know anything about these?