bull rope for pulling trees over

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
hello

i am a power lineman by trade and i also do line clearance. i sometimes have to use a bull rope to pull a tree over or just for a lil insurance that the tree doesnt get away from me.

what type of rope and what size do you pros use?

i climb poles but not trees...i use a bucket to top out the trees.

thank you

talcott
I'm a guy who rather go to big than to small..I use a 1/2 inch climbing rope to pull my Bull rope up over a limb and my Bull Rope is 3/4 double Braided Nylon.. Back in the day it cost about 300 bucks for 150 foot hank..I've used it to pull a huge tree between two houses..The trick I use is The big rope and a climbing line as a guide line if I have to be Spot on..I cut the back cut to the point the rope is not loaded much to get the tree over..The danger of a Bull rope is SLACK in the line..In my case the guide line can keep it in the fall once it's started over..I'm sure other guys may have their own tricks..

Personally I prefer the 1/2 Tru-Blue 12 strand from Samson, it is strong, relatively cheap and it will stretch alot when tensioned, when the tree starts to commit to the fall that stretch acts like a rubber band and helps the tree along. I don't do much vehicle pulling as we tend to use winches more than vehicles.

If you think you have to have a actual bull rope and heavy truck to pull a tree over nothing wrong with 5/8 Arbor Plex, same rubber band principle as that rope has a lot of stretch in it too, decent price and is also made by Samson. We have used our Arbor Plex bull rope to pull over many a big nasty tree with a 2 ton truck.