Business Owners: What did you start with?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

theciscokid

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've been working in the tree biz for the last 4 years, and climbing full-time for the last 3. In a few years, I am planning on going out on my own. I know every tree service has a different story, so I am curious to hear some of them. I had a few questions for those who took the plunge and started their own company.

1. What were start your up costs?

2. What did you start out with for equipment?

3. Was your business financed?

4. Which marketing/advertising methods did you use?

5. If you could go back, what would you do differently?

Are you planning to leave and compete with your current employer or offer different services or move to a different market? The reason I ask is can you start phasing into that slowly now? Would the place you work for now be willing to sell you equipment they don't use or perhaps an old piece of equipment when they upgrade?

I started out with everything I needed to climb and a dump trailer to haul away brush, an AirKnife and compressor. Also had to buy a pickup to pull it around. Total start up was somewhere around $20K. Most of that came from savings. I did borrow some, but paid it off in less than 2 years...kinda think maybe I shouldn't have, but it didn't kill the business, so not a huge regret - just something I wouldn't do again. I would have liked to start out with more pest control capabilities, but what would I have dropped? Maybe the AirKnife stuff. That gets underused, but I think it is a great tool so I don't regret that...just thinking maybe I should have switched order of purchase getting a sprayer first.