Buying an Alaskan small log mill

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HappyHammer

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a newbie on this forum and this is my first post so be kind fellas:confused:

I've been thinking about buying a chainsaw for ages and I have some English Oak logs, picture below, and I've been quoted A$ 2-300 to mill them into planks. I looked up the Alaskan mills and I can buy a small log mill for A$ 330 so thought this might be a better way to go. It's unlikely I'll get my hands on any logs bigger than 50cm across so this should be fine.

Any views would be appreciated on the best saw for these types of mills and / or on the mill itself also pictured below.

HH.

dark spot on the log.....

iam not a pro by any means but from what i have seen and what i have been told thats a sign of metal in there...if iam wrong someone please correct me...and best of luck

Hi Happy - I'm surprised no one has shown up so let me not disappoint you. I'll give my point of view and if nothing else let others shout me down?

You didn't say how long the logs were but if they are no more than 6ft and if you only plan to mill a couple of logs a year in your back garden then a big cheap electric might suffice.

On the other hand if you plan to do it more regularly and/or go bush, a simple answer is a brand petrol saw like Stihl or a Husky. Even brand names offer grades of saw eg consumer, farm, semi pro or pro. Milling is quite hard on saws so a plastic bodied garden pruner type consumer chain saw is not going to last long. Generally a pro-saw will last longer but is probably overkill for occasional use.