buying first stump grinder advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pizzaman

Reaction score
I'm getting ready to buy my first stump grinder and doing stumps for some extra income. I would like to eventually get into the full tree business but I can't jump in with both feet just yet. I was thinking about starting with the rayco rg1625 super jr. since I've never used this equipment before I was leaning toward buying it from a rayco dealer. At least I have a warranty in case something goes wrong early on. If anyone thinks I would be better off with a used or different machine please tell me why.
Also I could use advice on the most affordable ways to get customers. I was thinking of charging a flat fee,either $75 or $99, for most stumps. I thought this would attract more business my way. If this is the wrong way of going about it please give me your opinion. Any advice would be appreciated.

I don't have any personal experience with Rayco machines, but I hear they're good. My first grinder was a Dosko 691SP which I still use. I also have a Vermeer 630B, a good mid-size grinder. I agree with buying from a reputable dealer. Stump grinders generally get a lot of abuse and misuse, so buying used is sometimes a gamble. Most companies charge by the inch for grinding with a minimum. Send out a letter of introduction to all tree services in your area, perhaps offering discounted rates if they try you out. Provide fast, reliable, and quality service and your reputation will quickly grow. Keep the teeth sharp and grease often. Good luck.

I have a quick question for you; why are you starting with stump grinding? Have you done it a lot already? Do you have much experience? Just wondering here...