Calling All Saw Detectives

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Looks as if the cylinder base and crankcase mating surface had an air leak at the base on the left side. Heat failure started on the exhaust side as that is where most of the heat is. Piston top shows good combustion for some of it's life. Curious if cylinder bolts broke on left side or came loose. I'm no expert or detective 4 sure.

Looks as if the cylinder base and crankcase mating surface had an air leak at the base on the left side. Heat failure started on the exhaust side as that is where most of the heat is. Piston top shows good combustion for some of it's life. Curious if cylinder bolts broke on left side or came loose. I'm no expert or detective 4 sure.
+1

Nicely spotted, but I doubt you'd wouldn't notice the saw running lean to that extent.

Usually the simplest explanation is the correct one, so I'll go with straight gas.
And both of the above sums up nicely to carelessness as a root cause.

Also, I'm no detective, but it's dead Jim.

I'm no expert by any means= but I have made perfectly good looking pistons look just like the one in your photographs before now!
My guess- going solely off the evidence provided- overheated / overtaxed saw, big saw worked way hard.
Possibly filthy dirty outside the cylinder, blocked up fins equalling lack of cooling- add a big bar and dull chain, repeat heavy load cuts, big bar buried and muffler close to the log face.
Could have been running the perfect fuel oil mix and still result in the images shown, could pass pressure and vac tests and still end up with the results shown.
Was it a dull chain milling saw?

This has been fun so far...but here's the story