Can I burn my used logsplitter hydraulic oil in my home oil tank?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CTwoodnutt

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi Group,

I just recently changed the 9 gallons of used hydraulic oil from my log splitter.
Can I pour this into my houses outdoor heating oil tank, to burn in my furnace?

It says that it's combustible.

Opinions, please!

Thanks,

CTwoodnutt

If you have big oil tank and pour that in with it, it should be no problem at all. Talking 9 gallons. Of you were trying to fill a 275 gallon tank and burn alone you would have a hard time probably trying to get to ignite

I would not do it, chances are it would plug the nozzle. I would however burn it if I could figure out a way to filter it before pouring in, I guess it would depend on how diluted it was. I'm no expert, maybe someone that knows more about this will be along.

Hydraulic oil is thinner then house heating oil. It won't plug the nozzle at all. Burn away 6 gallons added to a large tank will not be an issue

Hydraulic oil is thinner then house heating oil. It won't plug the nozzle at all. Burn away 6 gallons added to a large tank will not be an issue
You'll have to explain that, I've seen plenty of hydraulic oil and it's way thicker than #2 heating oil. I was more concerned with the impurities in it than the actual burning of it. As I said, if you could filter it I would burn it.

You'll have to explain that, I've seen plenty of hydraulic oil and it's way thicker than #2 heating oil. I was more concerned with the impurities in it than the actual burning of it. As I said, if you could filter it I would burn it.