Chain sharpening, round or square?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
GrassGuerilla

GrassGuerilla

Olympic Piss-reving wanna be.
Greetings all. I almost hate to post this topic as its surely here already. I did some searching and reading already, trouble is there's as much bad info as good it seems.

I've been hand filing for some years. Out of necessity, I'm a self taught type. I can keep em pretty good with typical round semi chisel. Most of my cutting is in dirty wood from blow downs etc.

I'm interested in learning to up my game for those occasional clean wood felling and bucking gigs. I've heard of others converting round chisel to square. Seems like a good starting point (as I have plenty to work with). Of course, I'm likely to buy some fancy new chain to see what I've been missing;-)

I'd like to see some links to good info. Possibly some good videos. Preferably not a bunch of hacks and pikers that THINK they know what they're talking about. But rather some real "inside expertise" from loggers, arborist, or even "chain tweakers".

Mods, feel free to move this thread as you see fit.

GrassGuerilla

GrassGuerilla

I'm thinking to do this properly, you need to hold the file in a manner so as to sharpen the leading edge of the top plate, and simultaneously maintain the square edge in the corner. Presumably the gullet will need occasional work with a round file too eh? I'm guessing that could be done on a similar schedule with raker adjustment?

Thanks for posting the vid. With all the google links down (hopefully not lost) its tough to find all the great chain info that I know is on AS. Any links to good chain sharpening info is appreciated.

HuskStihl

HuskStihl

Chairin'em for the sound