Chain Sharping From A Novice Stand point

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dapper Dan

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
SHARPENING... I mean....can't even spell!

:newbie: to making my own chains....cut.

I am not a newbie as far as cutting firewood goes.

I usta have a local Stihl dealer here that was kinda a mom & pop sorta place.

I only had three (little) saws at that time.

Bought 3-4chains for each and changed em out. Took em back when dull and had him grind em. Reasonable and...cut great when I got them back!

He retired and sold out to a rental place. They can't fix saws and turn chains bright blue (useless) when sharpened.:mad: I went in to this place awhile back to buy a 361 and they INSISTED I buy a 390 instead. (Went elsewhere and bought the 361)

I came to this site, by accident, to learn a little and soon find myself in possession of 9 chainsaws.

Problem is... no matter how good the saw is it's worthless with a dull chain. The dealer (great tech) I bought the 361 from is 30 minutes away and only open weekdays 8 to 5.

I gotta learn to sharpen my own chains. Read every post I can find on the subject and..... too many different opinions to get a feel for it. (A pro's opinion don't mean much to a newbie) My attempts at hand filing, in the past, have only led to cutting nice "curves".

My approach to this was to buy several recommenced "systems" and try em out.