chipper trucks

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blackwaterguide

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
any ideas on which trucks make the best all-around commercial/residential trucks? I' d like your ideas on trucks with and without buckets. I prefer diesel. Thanks

This is a good question. I am getting ready to buy another truck and chipper and am vasilating between an F-550 size truck and a medium duty (Topkick, Loboy) truck.

The company I work for has all International trucks. They range from a 92 up 04s. We haven't had any real problems with the trucks. They are well maintained. We currently have 4 full size chip trucks one 75 ft ariel lift one 5? ft ariel lift, one with a grapple on it, two with sprayers. Besides Internationals we have a fleet of ford f250s with dump bodies. I have had some experience with the topkicks and kodiaks and they are nothing but problems. They are underpowered and prone to breaking down.

I have some experience with cab-overs. IMO, they are great for maneuverability. However, they don't have as much power, or as much of a GVW for a similar category Ford.

I've been in some cabovers that take a heavy load.

I like a cabover for city work.

If you do a lot of removals then the best I've run are international 4800's

What major problems have you guys seen with the Topkicks? Asplundh runs thousands of them.

A company I worked for in Portland ran several pre-topkick Asplundh trucks and had drive train problems. Always thought it was from yarding around their big heavy Morbarks.

Apart from bucket trucks, my straight chip-trucks are F350's.

I ditched 2 Int'l 4700's cuz they were in the shop getting "well-maintained" more than they were out working.

We have an older Ford cabover bucket here, C600, and it's got maneuvarability galore. It'll actually make a U-turn on a decent sized street... in one round.