climbing gear question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jackbaseball

Reaction score
I am new at climbing, I'm not bad at it. I use a method that uses two rope ends to make a loop. I ascend by "walking" up the tree and pushing the knot that creates the loop toward the limb which makes the loop smaller and secures me higher into the tree.

Anyway. I am pretty good at actually getting up into the tree, but i never trust the knot I put in the climbing rope. I am wondering if a device is made that acts as a sort of brake which i could apply once I am in the tree so that i could work more confidentely, without the fear of my knot failing and plunging to my doom. Any info or tips would be much appreciated... THANKS

-Chris

What type of knot are you using? A Blake's hitch or a tautline hitch? Both knots are very secure for climbing. I trust my life on them. I also clip in with my lanyard so I am double tied before cranking my saw.
How about the rope? Is it rope intended for lifeline applications in tree work? Home Depot rope isn't adequate for lowering limbs, never mind hanging your LIFE on!
If nothing else, I'd recommend signing up for a free subscription of TCI magazine. You can get it online from the NAA's (National Arborist Association) website.

I use a knot where you take the returning end with the clip on it.. The clip is not tied at the very end of the rope, so there is an extra foot or so.. and you take this extra rope and put it over the other side of the rope (which is going up into the tree) and circle it 3 times going down. Then you go to the top of the 3 turns, go behind it and come in front underneath to make a knot... my description is kinda sketchy but you probably know the knot.. i just dont know the name of it...