Climbing rope

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scubadude1188

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm new to arborist work and I wanted to know what a good type of rope and length of rope would be good to buy for my first rope.

i work for a company and all we use thier is poison ivy or saftey blue wich are both great ropes but when i do my own work baileys has a deal going on right now on dragonfly wich is like 99.00$ for 150 foot with a free rope bag i got 2 of them and they work great only thing i dont like is its a skinny rope and harder to grip than like a 12mm rope its 11mm. but when you put a friction hitch in it it grips like no other. my poison ivy will slip a little when im at work but this one is hard to get to slip i have to loosen my blakes hitch up to get it to come down.

i like arbormaster or high vee

i have big mitts so i don't care for the smaller diameter ropes.it's personal preference like everything else.

it's just my opinion but i don't see any point in buying it in less than 200'.sometimes you might find yourself in a bind and have to buy it locally.all i see in my area is 120' or 150'.

I also have big hands. I have tried the smaller ropes, but get tired of maintaining a tighter grip on them. They would be fine for mechanical use (ascenders, etc) but I just haven't gotten used to them for friction knot and manual use.

My preferance is Arbormaster rope. It comes in 3 colors, so you can keep ropes sorted by age or use multi ropes of the same type while visually keeping them separate. It is a 13mm rope, so easy to grasp. It doesn't milk (cover doesn't move linearly along inner strands). It is spliceable. It is rated at 8100# (ultimate strength, not working load).