climbing school?????

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

budroe69moni

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
i'm new to this business but i'm having a freakin' blast!!!!!
i want to get into doing larger trees but lack the experience.
there's just so much one can do w/ thier power purner,chainsaw and a 28' ladder. are there any climbing schools that anyone can recomend???? or should i just go for it on my own??????
budroe:cool:

The "Companion" could be a lot of help. I don't know of any courses in FLA. U SC Clemson has a new course.

How far away is Brian "Treeclimber", you may be able to hire him?

The you could line up two weeks of work and bring me down there, then I could learn palms.

Last edited:
I've never attended, but Arbormaster Training is supposed to be top of the line training. Look around at nearby colleges and arboretums. I know there's also another training school in Ohio somewhere, the name has slipped my mind. I learned from watching my tree climber, learning the knots and techniques, and trying trees that i knew were on my skill level and gradually challenging myself to more difficult trees. I still have a long way to go, but i feel in the past 3 years, i've come pretty far. I often climb for practice and not just work- with every tree you have under your belt, you gain more experience

Budroe,

Contact the Florida Chapter ISA at www.floridaisa.org. They often sponsor classes and workshops. The next one I know of is a Hazard Evaluation Workshop on April 16 in Orlando and April 18 in West Palm Beach.

The company in Ohio is ACRT. They do all kinds of training programs. www.acrtinc.com

Your local Cooperative Extension Service can probably help also.