Convert obsolete to modern can it be done?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ndfan6464

Many hobbies master of none
Reaction score
Good day folks. Newbie here so guess I should intro myself before the question. Iam just starting out in the vintage chainsaw world. Got bored with restoring vintage wood working machines and I've always loved chainsaws. So after cruising the forums and being inspired by what I saw and the amount info you all have I figured I'd give it a try. So if I do something newbish please forgive me and set me on the right path.

As far as my question goes. I picked up a Sears/ David Bradley 917.60044 to work on. I know the chain pitch is obsolete and if your lucky to find some its really expensive. So is it possible to convert this saw to modern pitch and if so what needs to be done? Thank you for time and any help.20181029_093648.jpg

You would need a new drive sprocket and bar. Good luck finding a 3/8" or 0.404 sprocket. Come to think of it, good luck finding the stock 1/2" sprocket.

You may have better luck finding 1/2" chain. I'm sure that there is someone here who can help you source some.

Looks like 1/2" chain on it now - that's what is on mine. If you can find a .404 sprocket, you could change to to.404 chain and use the same bar - I believe the bar groove is .063. Probably better luck finding 1/2" chain. The chain on it in the photo looks decent - why not just sharpen and use it? The adjuster is missing too.

Thanks guys for all the great advice. I do believe its 7/16 pitch. The old timer I got it from believed it to be the orginal chain. But being 90 he couldn't remember.

I'll measure it out tomorrow when I get home from work and report back.