Did I measure this squish correctly?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paul hill

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I'm looking for someone to check my methods and math before I proceed.

Husky 357 with new aftermarket P & C.

Dab of grease with .031 electrical solder at 12,3,6, and 9 on piston.
New .020 base gasket.
Installed cylinder with gasket and moved piston to top of cylinder.
Removed cylinder and solder still measured .031 with tiny grease spots on the top of the cylinder.

Removed cylinder and re installed without the .020 base gasket this time.
Repeated above process.
Removed cylinder and the solder measured .018 and .019

Does this mean my squish was .038/.039 with the gasket and .018/.019 without the gasket??

It makes sense to me base on reading about it but I've never tried this before and want to have someone double check for me.

If this is right, is that an acceptable squish for this saw?

Lastly, how big of a bead of sealant do I use? I'm thinking maybe the diameter of a couple of toothpicks but not sure.

Yes, it is acceptable. For a 60cc saw, it is ideal IMHO. You can run it without base gasket, but you have to use gasket paste. I use permatex ultra grey, but other brands are good too, Yamabond, Hondabond...

YES and YES!

You did it correctly and that is very good squish for a saw of that size. From what I have read .018-.020" is ideal for a 60cc saw.

Questions:

1.) How close to the piston edge did you have the solder pieces?

2.) What sealant are you going to use?

The KEY to getting good measurement is the amount of force it takes to smash the lead and how close to the edge you get the lead. 6 o'clock and 3 o'clock are the only needed places.
I MUCH prefer Plastigauge, myself.

9 and 3 o'clock. Correction.