dumb question on ripper chain

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Molecule

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I've never used ripper chain before, but need to chop up some large diameter disks, so I bought some WP375-38RP ripper chain, hoping it would be significantly faster, and put out less dust, than a std. 30° Carlton A2LM chisel.

I've never tried ripper chain before ... so I don't know what to expect. But I was surprised that on a 44" dia tulip magnolia (wood looks like/ feels like poplar), the ripper chains cuts slow as h3!! and produces mostly just dust and heat. On a 24" bar with 68cc saw, the cut speed is about 1" a minute. The same result was confirmed on a piece of 24" fir. (Both ends were cut 2 days ago, so they are maybe a little dry.) I quit after 3". Too much "push" was required on the bar to make progress (no natural draw of the bar into the wood), and my saw was running a lot hotter than I think I want to run it ...

Rakers are 0.025" so they seemed ok. The top angle is around 10°, and a 3/16" file seems to just fit in the side hook when held at 0° deflection (exactly 90° to bar). So that seems "normal" relative to specs in other posts for ripper chain.

Is there anything I can do to to this chain to make better progress ripping soft woods, or is this typical for ripping softwoods like poplar?

scans of the chain side and top --

attachment.php

Perhaps you should use a bigger saw with a 24" bar. What make/model of saw are you running?

I am not a fan of chainsaw milling,but that aside,if you look up "procut",which is a chainsaw mill,sold by a fellow by the name of Alan Combs,I believe,he lists different angles for milling different woods,speeds etc.