Emerald Ash Borer detected in Broome and Westchester Counties NY

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I've been harvesting Ash Borer victim trees for 4 years now here in northeast Owego. They seem to be confined to one small area at the moment but I'm sure they will spread. Shame too because Ash are the most dominant trees in the area. The pest is only attacking mature trees, not too interested in the smaller ones.

Only a matter of time before it spreads to all corners. I am in Fairfield County CT which borders Westchester County, my Ash trees are basically all done we are only a handful of miles from the border as the crow flies.

It's sad to read this.. It started years ago in our area and people kept saying don't worry about it. It took about 10 years but now most of the start is infected.

Yep, I have a lot of standing health ash that I am starting to consider cutting for firewood in the next few years. I would like to get some healthy saplings of another species started before I cut them though.

I only sell Ash wood and I have been buying all of it I can find. I just bought a building and 6 more acres for storage. My customers worry about me running out. I just bought 2 semi loads of Ash and a semi load of Rock Cherry for insert for aroma if they want it. Our area is still with out the worm.

Here what I got for $4000.00 dollars and three house trailers but they history.

Attachments

• NCM_0029.JPG
    NCM_0029.JPG
    55.3 KB · Views: 25
The forestry people are look at why some ash in other county's are being by passed by the worm. The agent said in a 10 group 3 to 4 will not be touched

This is significant because it has been found outside the quarantine boundary.