Eucalyptus

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DIRTYWOOD

Reaction score
I got about 250 euc trees that have been down for about 5 years. I got the 460 stihl with the 32" bar on it. Does anybody know what chain would work best for this hard wood?:chainsaw:givebeer:

I have extensive experience with euc. You have your work cut out for you! if the wood is sound and dry and clean then any chisel chain will do fine. I run full skip because I cut mostly softwood but full comp may be better. If the wood has started to rot or is dirty I would run semi-chisel full comp. If the bark has not come all the way off the wood you may want to peel it off. It is tough and tends to stick in the dogs in chunks. Euc is heavy too. It is very good fire wood in good condition but 5 years on the ground is too long. I don't like the smell of euc burning so I don't use it. Have fun and post some pics!

Added: BTW euc is popular with some pulp mills for some type of special paper. If disposal is a problem give the mills (in OR) a call. There is often a barge in SFO bay, maybe other places.

Last edited:
I got about 250 euc trees that have been down for about 5 years. I got the 460 stihl with the 32" bar on it. Does anybody know what chain would work best for this hard wood?:chainsaw:givebeer:

If the trees are small full comp chisel or semi-chisel will work fine. If the trees are big enough to bury your bar you might want to try full skip.

I've cut quite a bit of euc and I'm surprised that they're still good after five years on the ground. I used some euc for stringers under an oak log deck and they were buggy and punky after two years.

I've cut quite a bit of euc and I'm surprised that they're still good after five years on the ground. I used some euc for stringers under an oak log deck and they were buggy and punky after two years.