• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Arborsist Site and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member which comes with a decal or just click here to donate.

Want to Buy Exact Chain Size Matching?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bkellyusa

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am not a beginner at this but I am no pro either so I sometimes get lost. My question today is that the bar on my chainsaw calls for a 78DL chain. The chain itself is a 20 inch .325 chain semi-chisel and I have had a hard time finding a chain locally that fits it. I bought one the was .325 but 81DL. so I used it. I've seen other people do similar things. My question is there some sort of tolerance on mismatching chain and bar or is this all just a no no. From what I can see of chain in that size that is readily available there are not a lot of chains in the .325 X 78Dl semi-chisel at 20 inches although I have found 2 online. I should add that in 40 years of maintaining our property with chainsaws I have never used a semi chisel chain or a .325 chain so this is sort of new to me. That size chain is what came on the Echo 4910 I just bought. Turns out I like that chain for clearing out storm damage and such so I am motivated to stay with it. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.