Expected chipper lifespan

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maxburton

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
How many hours should I expect to get out of my chipper before it becomes unreliable? 1000 hours? That's my guess. I have a Bandit 65, but I'm also interested in generic numbers, or numbers for other, larger chippers. Thanks!

With proper maintainence and upkeep I would hope you would get several thousand hours out of a machine before reliability becomes an issue.

That seems high to me, but I'm still relatively new to the scene. My chipper has 600 hours and already looks beat to hell. I'm trying to rewrite my business plan, and, for example, I've got 150,000 miles as the life expectancy of a medium pickup. While I realize you can run them a lot longer than that, by the time you hit 150,000 miles transmission and engine repairs start to come up, and I would be less confident in their being able to make hard daily runs without breakdowns. So, for clarity, that's the kind of life expectancy I'm talking about.

my buddies 65 is just going in for 2nd clutch and rebuild at 5600hrs.
Life expectancy pivots on maintainance.
If you change the oil when its due,give it a bath once a week,and follow the general maintainance as outlined in your manual it could last much longer than you expect.
On the other hand,if you just work it,never clean it,and are'nt keen on getting your maintainance done ON TIME your speculations of 1k hrs is probably about right
I am pretty sure you've started down the wrong road already if your equipment is beat at 600 hrs.
Take care of your equipment and it'll take care of you

Good luck,
Nate

Ny finest said:
If you change the oil when its due,give it a bath once a week,and follow the general maintainance as outlined in your manual it could last much longer than you expect.