Felling Lever Info Figured i'd Share

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
He's got his saw and the lever (steel) in the same cut, never a good idea, that's what a split level cut is for.
The felling lever with a turning hook is a very useful tool, especialy if there is the chance a tree might sit back, and for turning a hung up tree off the butt after you sever the hinge.

Last edited:
I much prefer setting a line in the tree and using a rope puller to pull it over. That way I feel like I can always add power. I get a little nervous using only wedges. I've never used a lever before, but they look useful for pretty straight trees.

I guess levers are ok for little trees, even so, can't really think you can do much with one. I use wedges, you can lift a pretty big tree away from its lean (within reason) with a few plastic wdges and a 4 1/2 pound axe. And yes, a line in the tree if there is doubt or a big lean, or powerlines.

lever stuff

Look at the video just above the lever one.
How to get a tree that is hung up out with a winch.
It is the same tree that the lever is used on.
Is this an advertisement for the lever or the winch?

Note on the levered tree that the backcut is at an angle. It appears the sawyer was diving the bar a bit. That is inefficient from the standpoint that either a wedge or lever cannot lift a tree as well as it can on a level cut.

Granted this stuff is for smaller trees.

Note how this tree was cut using an open face technique.
Open face falling is a production technique used on smaller timber that was developed out of Scandinavia. The face is wide and that helps with control of the trees fell longer. OK that is neat.