Fertilizing White Oaks

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UrbanHunter

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this site but I am learning about the native plants and trees here in Ga. and am somewhat self taught. I would like to know is it better to fertilize white oak trees by digging a hole with post diggers at the dripline about 2' deep, pouring in 13-13-13 and putting about 6" of dirt on the top, or just broad casting around the dripline.

Thanks for the help!:greenchainsaw:

Of the two I would pick broadcasting, IMO deep root fertilization is the best method. I can't see any benefit from the post hole digger at the drip line method. If you were to use a 2" diameter auger 3' on center starting at the base of the tree and working out to the dripline(vertical mulching)you can add nutrients and relieve compaction. When ferting with any method, make sure to use the proper amount of material.(get a reference book) Good luck!

Ok. But do you think just broadcasting on top of the ground around the roots would be beneficial. I don't have the equipment to do the drilling.

Ok. But do you think just broadcasting on top of the ground around the roots would be beneficial. I don't have the equipment to do the drilling.

Absolutely. It has been recommended to me for a stand we have, by the local district forester and a timber management company.

Here's a great old thread on the subject:
http://www.arboristsite.com/showthread.php?t=22247
I crack me up. :hmm3grin2orange:

Do not deep fertilize!
You don't want to just go fertilize trees. You need to do a few soil tests, and then only add what's needed. Typically, soil fertility of mature trees is good, or if anything, too high in nitrogen. Only a soil test can say for sure.

Is there a specific problem with the oaks? It's very unlikely that the problem is soil fertility.