Finally got some action for my Homie C-51 and my Jonsered 52E. Questions...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roosterhog

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Finally got around to cutting down this big red oak that died on my place and got to test out a couple of old saws (Homelite C-51 and Jonsered 52E) that you guys helped me get going. Both have freshly re-build carbs. This is my first time for running "real" saws vs. light duty stuff. Need your opinion on what happened.

The C-51 runs and idles like a champ, but it wasn't the beast I thought it would be. I'm running a 21" bar with about 18" of it buried in wood (can't get more than that because of the big great white shark tooth spikes on it). The saw cut through it, but it would bog if you weren't careful. Has a new very sharp chain. I was making wads of big chips, but I was kind of dissappointed in the power. Is that just sort of par for the course for this old saw or am I missing something. I adjusted the carb and it helped, but still kind of weak. It will get the job done, but I was hoping for more. Were my hopes too high?

The Jonsered 52E idles crazy. Runs fine in wood, but can't keep it idling. I can adjust the idle and the L screw and get it purring - only to have to do it all over again after 4 or 5 cuts. Why Why Why Dedgummitt? It's also weird that it idles way too fast until it warms up. Any clues?

Thanks guys!

ON the C-51 is it running to lean? I have a Mac 660 gear reduction saw that I thought was running fine but another member Mark H adjusted the carb (at the Iowa GTG) a little richer and I could not stop/bog the saw after that.

Try a richer setting. The older saws I do not think like lean settings.