Firing up EPA woodstove for the first time tonight, any suggestions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Motodeficient

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Burned wood for the past 4 years in a 20+ year old ashley woodstove. I moved into a new house this year and had an EPA pedestal wood stove installed. I am going to fire it up tonight for the first time (supposed to be in the upper 30's tonight). I have never used an EPA woodstove before, it seems like it will be quite different from the inefficient Ashley that I was used to. Mostly worried about keeping the chimney temp hot enough to prevent creosote but cool enough to be safe.

SDC13232.JPG

Looks real pretty but is it really that close to your drywall? I would follow the manufacturer's recommendations for breaking it in if i were you.

As long as you burn good dry wood, burning in an EPA stove it will be hard to get alot of creosote. I do a top down fire, which has the larger stuff at the bottom, then the kindling on top then some crumpled newspaper on top. Light the paper and I normally crack the door for a minute or two. Open the air controls up and let it get burning. After having a couple fires you get your stove going good, normally I see some secondaries burning. At that point you can slowly back down the damper in a couple of stages. At this point it will cruise for a long time and put out good heat. You will get it, but it will take some getting used to. They burn completely different than the older stoves.

Thanks for the tips guys. The corner of the stove can be 4" from a combustible wall according to the people that installed it, and the manual

Modern stoves can be super close to combustibles. That could have been a plywood wall at 4". My soapstone stove can be within 7" of the combustible wall directly in back, I gave it 10".