For all you saw tuning experts...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spudzone

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Greetings from Hayward WI,

I picked up one of those little Makita dcs330TH saws from Baileys and I'm getting it dialed in. I'm not a tuning pro, so here's my problem for all of you:
The saw idles nicely at 2850-2900. It seems like I have to nurse it up wot gently or it will bog and die. Sometimes you can hit the trigger and it revs right up to wot, but not always. Once at wot, it seems stable with a hint of 4 stroke at 11,500-11,600 or so. It cuts well for a small saw at wide open but if you force it a bit too much, it bogs and dies, rather than just slowing and stopping the chain like I'm used to with bigger saws. The fuel is the same fresh 91 octane with Husky synthetic oil at 50:1 that I run in my 357 without any problem.

What do you suggest I do with my H/L short of dissecting my saw and trimming limiters etc.?

Many thanks

Chris

Last edited:
You need to trim the limiters, period. It sound like it's too lean on the L. That's why it's bogging when you give it throttle. Try turning the L screw counter-clockwise 1/8 turn at a time. Some saws cannot be tuned properly without trimming the limiters. I had a Dolmar 401 like. The saw was basically unuseable. No way should you have to put up with that. It's not a matter of breaking in, it's a matter of tuning, period. The H is likely lean too, thanks to the EPA. I'd recommend getting a tach and setting it per factory specs. Otherwise, you will have to tune it by ear. You should hear it "burble" a little at WOT out of the wood, no load.

I would open the low needle 1/8 turn
and see if the bog on acceleration is
gone. If it is barely 4 strokeing i would
open the high as well.

Lee

Tach