? for those who designed their home for wood heat

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Erock

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Here's my situation,
I'm just renting an old house at the moment but the time will come to build my own place. I am a commercial carpenter and an idea ran across my mind one day. Instead of building a masonry chimney I was thinking if I were to build a shaft out of heavy gauge studs and double or maybe even triple layer 5/8 rock. The shaft would go from the basement (figure stove will be down there) all the way to the roof. all flammable material (joists, plywood for base floor and the like) would not go through. Rock butt seams would be staggered and the rip seams would be log cabined or zig zagged if that makes better sense. It makes sense to me cause thats what we have to do to fire walls. It would be just steel and rock the whole way up and on top of that I'd use insulated pipe of course but I want to protect my house as much as possible just in case something terrible happens. I think it would be easy enough to build and will hopefully provide some defense in case of a chimney fire.

What do you folks think?

Why not add a sprinkler system while you're at it? :)

I'm just teasing a little. There's nothing wrong with being extra cautious about what'd happen with a stack fire.

"On top of that I'd use insulated pipe"

Does that mean only the top section would be insulated, or would the entire chimney be of insulated pipe?

As long as the entire chimney is insulated pipe, and you build some good type of access to periodically take a look and inspect it, I don't see a problem. I'd probably say use steel studs to frame it too ;)

Sheetrock is not fire resistant. Go with cement board. A sprinkler system in the chimney chase would have saved a house near here a few years ago. the chase was lined with sheetrock.