free saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

old guy

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
Went out to cut down the top of my hedge with a poulan 2900 with 20" bar this afternoon and of course I touched one of the wires of the fence that lives in the hedge, so I was sitting in the door of my garage filing chain when a guy stops in the ally and gets out and tells me he sees me here occasionally working on saws.
It seems he has a stihl saw that does not run and he bought a new one and do I want the old one.
To make the story shorter I stepped out the back door a couple of hours later and there sat an MS360 in real good shape except the piston and cyl are scored at the exhaust port, I've never done a saw before but from all the pics I've seen on the forum this one should be easy, the cyl should clean up easy, a new piston and rings and then find out what toasted it.

John

Went out to cut down the top of my hedge with a poulan 2900 with 20" bar this afternoon and of course I touched on of the wires of the fence that lives in the hedge, so I was sitting in the door of my garage filing chain when a guy stops in the ally and gets out and tells me he sees me here occasionally working on saws.
It seems he has a stihl saw that does not run and he bought a new one and do I want the old one.
To make the story shorter I stepped out the back door a couple of hours later and there sat an MS360 in real good shape except the piston and cyl are scored at the exhaust port, I've never done a saw before but from all the pics I've on the forum this one should be easy, the cyl should clean up easy, a new piston and rings and then find out what toasted it.

John

If you need any help let me know. Sounds like a real good score.

Nice. The MS 360/036 is a personal favorite of mine..

Super easy to work on and also lots of parts available.