freeze checked hemlocks

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

da new feller

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
hi,
i'm kinda new to this tree felling deal, don't get me wrong i know enough to ask around if i don't quite understand something. i've been keeping busy (lol) felling mostly fir here in western washington. i had a woman call me and she's got 6-7 hemlocks that are freeze checked. i never heard that terminology before but it doesn't sound very good. i've looked around on the net with no results. anyone mind letting me in on this? i'm supposed go take a look at them this weekend. did i mention they're near her house. any insight or advice would greatly be appreciated.

thanks, jon

Keep in mind that most homewoners don't know what the hell they are talking about. It amazes me the plethora of local slang, urban legend, myth and general misinformation and BS that people spew.

Some homeownwers actually think that a notch will dissuade the forces of physics and make the tree fall wherever you put the notch. I guess its a magic wand kind of thingy.:confused:

Tell her it costs more to deal with the dangers of freeze checking.:cheers:

Keep in mind that most homewoners don't know what the hell they are talking about. It amazes me the plethora of local slang, urban legend, myth and general misinformation and BS that people spew.

Some homeownwers actually think that a notch will dissuade the forces of physics and make the tree fall wherever you put the notch. I guess its a magic wand kind of thingy.:confused:

Tell her it costs more to deal with the dangers of freeze checking.:cheers:

Oh totally true...