Funny story / Another great review..!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Viper21

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
So.... for starters, I'm no pro. Not even close. I'm just a firewood guy for personal use. I cut maybe 10 cords/year for myself, & family. I'm also a 1 saw guy. I have a 2005 Husky 353. Bought it brand new 10yrs ago. Has been a great saw for me & my needs for the most part.

Even before I found this site..... I was fantasizing about a bigger saw..lol. In particular a 555. Wanted the extra power for obvious reasons, at times just wanted to see/feel the difference a 60cc class saw would make for my situation. Then you find a site like this, read a little & damn..... saw envy....

I usually cut with one other guy. We work together, & usually cut a fair amount of firewood together as we both rely on wood 100% for heat. He's a Stihl guy through & through. He runs a 290 as does the one other guy that cuts with us once in awhile. When sitting around & such, they both dog on my husky, even though it has hung with em for the last few years. Although, I would have to admit, they certainly had the edge.

The one thing that has kept me from getting a bigger saw, well.... besides the price... is I really like the weight of my 353. I've made a few cuts with my buddys 290 & it's noticeably heavier.

Well...... after reading a bunch of threads last winter....... I contacted Mastermind...LOL. Yes. In January, I made an appt. to get my saw done in October. Was tough..... while, MM had my saw, I got multiple requests to go cut with my buddy. I just gave excuses.........well.... of course I didn't want to tell him what I was doing....duh.