getting to be a tax paying climber

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

outlawtree

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have been climbing for two years now, and have been grounding before that. I work full time for a company. I am a decent climber and others have noticed how far I am coming for being 21 and have hired me for side jobs. I am saving for my own set up to put any tree on the ground, but now I wonder about getting a tax number and business account for my side jobs. I want to be legal, but I dont know how to bid work seeing everyone has told me the Gov will tax me 35% of it. I really cant find much online on tax write offs? Is it just the taxes I paid for the gear that come off my income tax, or is it a total cost of the equipment? I am planning on getting insurance, but am trying to figure out this tax stuff, or if its to much of a hassle to not do side work at all.

I will piggy back here. Also thinking of going contract climber. What do you guys buy for personal/ liability insurance? What hourly does it take to pay out FOR YOU to make it worth contract over employee? I'm in the U S

These Q's cant really be accurately answered. Insurance is different all over the board. Get with a CPA and get the skinny of what is required in your area. Anything you buy that has anything to do with the business, keep the receipt.