Green Ash fungus things?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DPF

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'll post a pic tonight, but maybe someone can help me now. I have two green ash trees, one in the back (fine) and one out front along the street. The one along the street, as well as several neighbors Ashes along the street, seem to have a fungus I can't get identification on. I'm no expert so maybe these structures are natural for Ash but I don't believe so and can find no reference.

Whatever it is has formed spikey clusters of balls at leaf clusters and either consumed the leaves or caused them to fall off. The balls can be 1/4" to rarely almost 3/4" in diameter, then clustered. Intially green in color then turning brown and falling off. I assume this is after they spore (if it is a fungus) that they brown and fall.

It seems to be on about 50-75% of the ashes on my street. Again, I'll post a pic tonight for reference. Any ideas? I've ruled out Ash Rust as the structures are totally different. The tree is about 15 years old I think (I've only been here 2.5), ~36" trunk circumference, maybe 30' tall.

If I've left out any pertinent info, please let me know and I'll respond.
Thanks,
-DPF

search "ash flower gall" Innocuous, and ornamental to us Halloween lovers.

Why can't witches have babies?

Warlocks have Hollow weinies!

I do believe that's it! Thanks.

Well, at least now I know it isn't too harmful, except aesthetically.

The fact that it only attacks male trees explains the percentage of trees on the block affected as well.

Thanks again.
-DPF