Heatmor 200 help needed

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SJB2024

Reaction score
I bought a house last month with a heatmor 200. I tried following all of the manual instructions, but need help. I am completely new to this and confused...

When my blower kicks on I get a bit of sparks out the stack and it sounds like boiling coming from the door. What am I doing wrong? I just had the water pump replaced and I have circulation. When I turned off the blower and opened the door, I was met with flames. I loaded the boiler with a few logs, but am wondering if it was tooo many.

Any help is appreciated.

I don't have a Heatmor so I'm not familiar with them but I have been running my own design for 14 seasons. If water is boiling then I would first verify water level. Would also check the water temperature set point - if it's too high it may boil in hot spots such as the door if it is plumbed for water. Also check flow/restrictions through door if possible.

Sparks with the blower on may be normal for Heatmor. Without my internal baffle I get sparks also.

If the blower is shut down the fire is starving for oxygen when you open the door and you may get a flare. I usually open it a crack slowly before opening all the way to fill. Again, normal.

Regarding fill volume, I try to estimate the amount needed until the next tending. At -5°F forecast tonight, I filled it with black locust. At 35° I might put 8 pine splits in for the morning fill to get to the afternoon.

Lastly, do your best to burn seasoned wood. It's tempting to use just cut rounds, but they contain lots of moisture and water doesn't provide much heat when you have to burn it off. Get a year ahead (or two!) and stay there. Split and stacked wood exposed to sun and wind is optimal.

Good luck and welcome to the site.