Hello all!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tmacie

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to the milling forum (and new to milling). I hung out on the chainsaw forum for a while a few winters ago.

I did a little milling last year for a friend. I used his setup of 2 used 385XPs and a 54" Alaskan mill. I didn't know much about milling (and still don't) but found that I liked doing it very much.
It looks like I will be milling for him about every other weekend so I want to make sure I'm up to par with technique and make sure I'm not making it harder on the equipment and myself.

We've been milling mostly 45"+ vermont sugar maple. We've had some beautiful slabs. I don't have pics to share right now, but next time I am at the shop i will get some of the slabs and of some finished product.

Travis

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to the milling forum (and new to milling). I hung out on the chainsaw forum for a while a few winters ago.

I did a little milling last year for a friend. I used his setup of 2 used 385XPs and a 54" Alaskan mill. I didn't know much about milling (and still don't) but found that I liked doing it very much.
It looks like I will be milling for him about every other weekend so I want to make sure I'm up to par with technique and make sure I'm not making it harder on the equipment and myself.

We've been milling mostly 45"+ vermont sugar maple. We've had some beautiful slabs. I don't have pics to share right now, but next time I am at the shop i will get some of the slabs and of some finished product.

Travis
Welcome to the milling side of life Travis! We like pictures over here, looking forward to seeing them.