Hello from Alaska!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

2ofEverything

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Good morning, my wife and I have an acre here in S.E. Alaska and will be milling lumber for the property builds. I have limited chainsaw experience to mainly felling smaller trees and fire wood. I just got a Stihl 041AV powerhead for free from a gentleman that bought "new" back in '77. He had the original manual and some spare parts, I will be disassembling it since he said it started to make a "knocking" sound and it has been sitting for a few years now. The saw has a great history story , him and his wife built two log cabins with it and years of firewood and property clearing. It shows much use, but has character! One question is bar brand that will fit? I don't have money to get what I want, so for now just something to get it rolling and upgrade in the future. Bearings and gaskets I will replace, plus he gave me three carbs, new filters and a plug. Looking forward to any advice and everyone stay safe, strong and have a blessed day!

Hello and welcome,

The bars are easy to find. I have many if you need one. Honestly finding one in AK would be much cheaper with shipping though. I see you said the former owner said it had a knocking noise. That could be a number of things and I hope it is not the worst. The good thing is the 041 was sold for years so there are parts out there.

Bill