Help a novice trying to progress

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ncchainsaw

Reaction score
I apologies for the length here. I wanted to include as many details as I could think of to get good answers and possibly help others who are also trying to learn & progress.

My background is I live in NC, and thanks to ice storms, hurricanes, my 5 acre woods, 6 rental properties & helping friends I have probably taken down ~100 trees and cut up another ~150 that have fallen. I've made mistakes, but am trying to learn and progress. I probably find myself w/ a chainsaw in my hands at least once a month. Plus I always seem to get more opportunities like a week in MS last fall.

I currently have a Husq 261, Stihl 390 & Stihl 192T as saws. 200ft bull rope, block & sling, come along & several small ropes for equipment.

I usually take down trees by:

1) ascending tree w/ 28ft ladder and attaching a rigging line
2) attaching a sling & block to anchor point in direction I want tree to fall
3) run line from tree, to block, then to back of truck heading in opposite direction
4) have helper pull w/ truck while I back-cut and drop tree

This has worked well (once I invested in a bull rope and block &sling).

There are times when I have a clear path to drop the tree, but would like a slightly more controlled descent.

I am considering the following....

1) ascend tree neighboring tree to drop & attach block & sling
2) attach wrap/friction device at base of neighboring tree
3) run line from friction device, through sling & attach to tree to drop
4) attach 2nd line to tree to drop
5) attach sling & block to anchor point in direction I want tree to fall
6) run 2nd line from tree to drop, through sling & block
7) when back cutting, use manual force to pull tree in direction of ground &
8) have helper leverage friction device to slow/control descent of tree