Help me spend money 038 magnum rebuild

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boredrob

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello all.

Basically between me (industrial machine technician by trade and a hobby shop I play from) and my pappy (retired logger who sawmills for fun on his mixon and son of an in heaven retired logger) we have more saws than we need. Several others for parts. Mostly husky. Dads logging switched to husky around 90 or so when the stihls seemed to lose quality. We have everything from top handle to 142 to 394. Probably 5 or 6 running 272/372 and several broke ones. Many in between (550/257xp/66/555 iirc and many more). We also have stihl from 251 to 391 to 201 to 660.

I don't need another. At all. He don't either. BUT... dad fell into his dad's pile of saws when he died and for whatever reason now 15 years later wants his dad's personal firewood 038 magnum Running. He said it was seized and to fix it. I looked it over and it's solid. In decent shape. My grandpa had a limb get him during hurricane hugo and didn't do much after so the saw is pretty solid. Its seized though.

I'm going to build it. Id kind of like a good whole kit. Crank/ piston/ seals jug.... all. Reason being I don't want to take it apart and then order parts while it's in a box. That annoys me. I see hyway top end kits and I may go that way. Then look at the crank and check the seals.

We want it built using good parts. No reason at all but if I'm building his daddy's saw for him then I'm fine with the cost at whatever it is. The hyway top end kit is 125 ish shipped and the crank kit is 70 ish if I buy both. Is there better than that or anywhere else I should look? Anything I should look into? I also see the knockoffs cheap but don't want that. I didn't see anything meteor but didn't look long. Figured I'd come to the experts. They would know