Help with some basic knot and roap application

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fields_mj

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
Probably going to get flamed for this, but I've got some questions and figured this was as good a place as any to start asking them.

First of all, I'm not an arborist. I do cut my own firwood, but that's about it. My questions are about a safetly application for deer hunting out of a tree stand, or maybe more accuratly about climbing up and down the tree via climbing sticks.

I'm just now getting around to buying the safety gear that I need in order to not fall out of a tree. I've been hunting out of stands for over 20 years, but we always built our own, and they were big enough that you could easily take a nap in them. Well, now that I'm buying hang on/lock on stands that are a lot more portable, I'm also buying the harnes and straps to keep me in them. One of my bigger concerns is going up a set of possibly wet or even icy sticks in the dark and then trying to safely step over into the stand. They make and sell some "life lines" that are essentially a rope that ties off to the tree above the stand with a Prusik knot and a carabiner. You attach the prusik knot to your harnes via the carabiner. As you go up/down the tree, you take the prusik knot with you. Once you get in the stand, you attach your lanyard to the tree strap and then you can safely disconnect from the life line. Now, my problem with this is that it costs $40~$60 and I would need one for each stand and I simply don't have it in the budget to get one of these for each of my stands right now. It would apper that the life line is simply a 30' climbing rope (camo of course) with a figure 8, or maybe a double figure 8 tied in one end, and probably some kind of stopper knot on the other end. It looks like it attaches to the tree by looping ever