Here's a mill for ya!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
If I was close by and had a place to put it. be all over this!

Man, I don't know. It just don't look like the flatheads I remember.

He can call it what ever he wants, but the motor in the picts. is an OHV motor, not a flat head...

Rob

I'm sure he's refering to the fact it "origionally" was powered with a wide belt to a steamer or ?? .

Rob

It's a Ford, inline 6cyl, 300ci engine, probably with a 1bbl Carter carbeurator, damn things are bulletproof, powerful, and sip fuel.

Looks like a mechanics nightmare to me, and I AM a mechanic. I'd have to agree that it's an old Chev/GMC 6 cyl. and as such it will have babbit bearings, which are probably shot.

Looks like a mechanics nightmare to me, and I AM a mechanic. I'd have to agree that it's an old Chev/GMC 6 cyl. and as such it will have babbit bearings, which are probably shot.

Could be a nightmare, but could be interesting. I would like to see more pictures at different angles. I am sure glad to hear that some of you guys know what a 216/235 Chevy looks like. Now I don't feel so old, The machine was built out of necessity. Is this a sawmill only or was it used for various tasks. :popcorn:

Could be a nightmare, but could be interesting. I would like to see more pictures at different angles. I am sure glad to hear that some of you guys know what a 216/235 Chevy looks like. Now I don't feel so old, The machine was built out of necessity. Is this a sawmill only or was it used for various tasks. :popcorn:

I revisited the listing and saw all pictures. I saw one like this in Europe in a museaum that was powered by horses.:jester: