Hickory seasoning

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Wow, I feel bad about laughing earlier but I really needed it. Good things happen to good people, good things must be coming your way. I work as a municipal arborist. Most of the guys I work with throw good wood through the chipper. I am constantly arguing with them that someone can and will use it if we just leave it on the curb. It always disappears when we leave it and I leave as much as I can.

you could send me a piece o hickory each week i will see if its good to go in my stove[ kinda wood of the week club ] or you could purchase a wood moisture meter and monitor the seasoning yo self [ive been told they are not that spensive] jk

I have a piece of split shagbark hickory that was a top of a log that was cut in January 2011. I cut and split it on September 8, 2011. Measurements are 4"x4"x 18" and weighs exactly 10.0lbs. At what weight would this piece be ready(seasoned) for optimum burning in my woodstove? Thanks in advance!

I have found that not all of the same wood weights the same. Some sections of the wood are denser and will weigh more then others. Just take two pieces and whack them together, if it sounds dull then its green, if it rings or pings then it’s dry. Some wood burns better then others when green. Get a hot bed of coals goin and green or not it will burn. When it comes time to burn just try a piece or two and see how it does. Nothing like trial and error to figure out if something works or not.

I have a piece of split shagbark hickory that was a top of a log that was cut in January 2011. I cut and split it on September 8, 2011. Measurements are 4"x4"x 18" and weighs exactly 10.0lbs. At what weight would this piece be ready(seasoned) for optimum burning in my woodstove? Thanks in advance!